70 years ago in June 1950, The Farsons Brewery in Mriehel opened its doors for the first time to a country still reeling from WWII devastation.
Following the 3-way merge of Simonds Farsons Cisk in 1948, the directors saw the need to revitalize the island through industry and meet the requirements of a growing market. Built in just 4 years, the 7,000 sqm Mriehel brewery made use of the most forward-looking material of its day – re-enforced concrete – becoming the first building in Malta to do so. It boasted state-of-the-art machinery and was of a scale that could accommodate an increasing demand for beer and soft drinks.
To say it paved the way for new opportunities would be an understatement. Quite frankly, it pioneered the post-war industrialization our nation and in its heyday, was the only local company employing more than 1000 workers, including many women.
In July 2021, the former Farsons Brewery re-opened as ‘The Brewhouse’, a regenerated and revitalized building that retains many of the original features of the old brewery, such as the iconic Art-deco style façade and the authentic brewing machinery.